Creating a Self-Service Policy

Learn how to create and configure a Fusion self-service policy, providing self-service registration, account updates and account recovery.

To create a Self-Service policy, follow these simple steps. To use the Adaptive MFA policy once you've created it, simply follow the Assigning a Self-Service Policy to an Application steps.

1) Start by logging into the Admin Console using an admin account

2) From the left-hand menu, select Self-Service

3) Under the Self-Service Policy screen, you will see a listing of all Self-Service policies. If this is a new Fusion instance, then you will only see the Default Self-Service Policy as shown below:

Click to Enlarge

4) To create a new Self-Service policy, click the + Create Self-Service Policy button in the top right hand corner.

5) The Create Self-Service Policy page will be displayed, as shown below:

Click to Enlarge

6) The table below explains each of the options that can configured for a Self-Service Policy. Once you've setup your policy, click the Save button.

See Assigning a Self-Service Policy to an Application for the next steps on how these settings can be applied to take effect.

Setting

Description

Self-Service Policy Name

Define a name for this Self-Service Policy. This name is displayed in the Self-Service Policy listing and used to refer to this policy throughout Fusion.

Allow Self-Service Customer Registration

This setting enables or disables the self-service registration from the login screen. If you do not use this option, then you will have to create customer accounts using the Fusion admin console.

Require Customer to Activate Their Account

This setting enables or disables the customer activation process. If you do not use this option, then customers will not be required to click the link an activation link to use their newly created account. Disabling this option also means that after account registration, the customer will automatically be logged in (a session will be created).

Lifetime of New Customer Activation Link by Email

This is the lifetime of the activation link that is sent in an email to a new customer when they create an account use the self-service customer registration. The default lifetime of the link is 12 hours.

Allow Self-Service Username Reminders

This setting enables or disables the Self-Service Username reminder option from the login screen. This may not be required if you're only using the email address as the primary identifier. If you're using a separate username or phone number, then keeping this option enabled is recommended.

Allow Self-Service Password Reset

This setting enables or disables the self-service password reset from the login screen. If you do not use this option, then you will have to manage the customers passwords using the Fusion admin console (and you'll need a helpdesk/customer services person to do that).

Lifetime of Password Reset by Email

This is the lifetime of the password reset link that is sent in an email to a customer when they request a password reset. The default lifetime of the link is 60 minutes, and

the the link should be considered a secret.

Allow Customers To Change Their Password

This setting enables or disables the self-service password reset from the My Account Page. If you do not use this option, then customer will either have to 1) Use Self-Service Password Reset or 2) You will have to manage the customers passwords using the Fusion admin console (and you'll need a helpdesk/customer services person to do that).

Allow Customers To Delete Their Account

This setting enables or disables the account deletion option from the My Account Page. If you do not use this option, then you will have to manage this process using the Fusion admin console (and you'll need a helpdesk/customer services person to do that). This option is required as part of GDPR compliance.

Lifetime of Account Deletion Link by Email

This is the lifetime of the account deletion link that is sent in an email to a customer when they use the option to delete their own account. The default lifetime of the link is 60 hours. The link should be considered a secret.

Allow Customers To Manage Their Personal Information

This setting exposes the 'Personal Information' option when using the self-service Account Management component.

Allow Customers To Manage Their Consents

This setting exposes the 'Privacy & Data' option when using the self-service Account Management component. This helps comply with regulatory requirements where you need to give customers rights to view any consents that they may have accepted and opt-out from any optional consents that you may have set up.

Allow Customers To Download Their Data

This setting exposes the 'Download My Data' option when using the self-service Account Management component. This helps comply with regulatory requirements where you need to give customers rights to data portability.

See Setup and Manage Customer Notification for further information on how to customize and brand the Self-Service notification emails

What Happens When a Link Life Time Expires?

With the exception of the expiry of a new customer account activation link, when any self-service links expire, the customer will have to re-request them.

When a customer uses the self-service registration process, the account is created but it cannot be logged in to until the activation link has been clicked.

In the event that the activation link has expired, the customer can still take control of the account (they created) by performing a self-service password reset. Resetting the password will also activate the account.

‚Äč